Skip menu
Wawel Royal Castle - HOME

Wawel Royal Castle
State Art Collection

31-001 Kraków, Wawel 5

(+48 12) 422-51-55, 422-61-21

Tourist Information:
(+48 12) 422 51 55
ext. 219

Resrvations and Guide Service:
(+48 12)
422 16 97

Press contact:
(+48 12) 422 51 55
ext. 380, 341

Royal Private Apartments

plan info
On the first floor there are private royal apartments,  chambers for court members and guest rooms.
Four chambers located to the south of the Envoys’ Stairs were designated for the King’s guests. In this part of the palace there are original larch wood ceilings, and also original painted wall friezes in two of the rooms. In terms of architecture especially noteworthy are the Gothic and Renaissance portals – the artwork of Maestro Benedict. The Renaissance furnishing includes northern European and Italian artwork, including the tapestries with grotesque, landscape and animal themes from the collection of Sigismund Augustus. The last two rooms boast Italian paintings from the old collection of the Lanckoroński family. Over sixty paintings from this collection form a studiolo in one of the rooms in Jordanka, the Gothic tower.
In the north-east corner of the castle, with its Gothic rooms, there is the charming and mysterious Hen’s Foot Tower. In Łokietek’s Tower there is Sigismund the Old’s bedroom, and in Sigismund III’s Tower there is an office with rich stucco decoration from around 1600. In the interwar period this section of the castle served as a formal apartment of Polish President Ignacy Mościcki, along with the remaining bedroom in the Danish Tower. In the northern wing of the palace there are two rooms with objects from the reign of the Wettin dynasty in Poland. Among them is an interesting collection of Meissen porcelain. The last two rooms, one of which is the formal Column Room, are furnished in the Classicistic style.

Room 18

Zoom in - The Guest Bedroom.
The Guest Bedroom.
The Guest Bedroom
The room has retained its original Renaissance larch wood ceiling, and a painted wall frieze depicting human heads from the first half of the 16th century. The oldest tapestry in the castle’s collection (15th C.) portrays The Story of the Knight with the Swan. Among paintings from the collection of the Lanckoroński family, there are valuable works by Simone Martini, Bernardo Daddi and Jacopo del Sellaio. The late Renaissance English style bed evokes the original character of the room. The impressive 18th century tile stove comes from the castle in Wiśniowiec.

Rooms 6a and 6b

Zoom in - The Hen’s Foot.
The Hen’s Foot.
The Hen’s Foot
These two small rooms are situated in the Gothic 14th century little Belvedere corner tower (first renovated in Renaissance times and again in the 20th century), in part of the castle once known as the Hen’s Leg. Its windows present a panoramic view of the Old City of Cracow. The function of these rooms is unknown. Perhaps Kings sat here in solitude contemplating vital issues. The portals with the coat of arms of the Vasa family and the fireplace both date from c. 1600. In the interwar period the present ceiling with a plafond painted by Zygmunt Waliszewski was added, and the walls were lined with 18th century cordovan. There are also Renaissance paintings, predominantly French.

Room 12.

Zoom in - The Column Hall.
The Column Hall.
The Column Hall
Silverware was stored here in the 16th century, but in the 18th century columns were added and it was transformed into a formal room. At present the interior is arranged in the spirit of Classicism. The portraits of Polish dignitaries date from the reign of Stanislas Augustus Poniatowski. Among them is a portrait of the King from the workshop of Marcello Bacciarelli. There is a set of Classicistic furniture with cordovan upholstery.